News

How to Clear Your iPhone’s Data so That You Can Sell it Safely

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

How to Clear Your iPhone's Data so That You Can Sell it Safely

How to Clear Your iPhone’s Data so That You Can Sell it Safely

Mobile phones have become a necessity for the living world. You wake up to the sound of the alarm set on your mobile phone. If you have to remember a date or any task on a specific date, you can put a reminder on your mobile phone. You can easily communicate with your friends, family and colleagues. There are a vast number of applications that allow you to maintain a contact with your loved ones that are away from you.

If you are a fitness freak or are planning to start toning your curves, your mobile phone can act as your trainer and track every detail about the calories you consume, the steps you walk, the amount of water you drink, etc.

If you’re bored or have missed any of your favourite shows, mobile phones have got that too covered for you. You can entertain yourself by watching shows and videos on your mobile phones and play games.

Capturing moments on gatherings with family and friends, recording the cute actions of your pets and your toddlers’ first steps everything can be done using your mobile phones. And you certainly are afraid of losing your pictures, videos, chats, health and fitness data, contact numbers, reminders for the tasks. So, what do you do? You save them all on the integrated service of iCloud provided to you.

So, if you ever have to sell your iPhone, you have to remove all of the saved data. The process of saving the data is an easy task but deleting it requires a bit of hard work.

If you are planning to sell your gadget or buying a new one and giving the old one to your younger sibling, the first thing you need to do is to wipe your personal data clean. Clearing all the data you have ever stored on your phone might take quite some time based on how much stored data was available.

You have to back up everything on your phone before selling or giving it away. Before, wiping everything out, obviously, you need to make its back up. Since you want to erase it from the device, not your life, right?

So, for that purpose you need to back up your data first. Some of the users are efficient enough that they upload their data on iCloud side by side but some of us, like me, are just like a lazy sloth who doesn’t like making much effort.

How to back up your Apple device

An up-to-date back up is necessarily needed before deleting the entire data from the device. So, before you take any step towards wiping out the data, make sure that you have an up-to-date backup of your iPhone.

Usually, iCloud automatically makes a backup over the night if the device is plugged in and has an active Wi-Fi connection. But manually backing your device up will makes sure that your device is absolutely up to date and nothing of great importance is left behind to get erased.

  1. Make sure your iPhone or iPad is connected to Wi-Fi.
  2. In case, your device has low power, plug in the charging to complete the process.
  3. Launch Settings from the Home screen.
  4. Tap on the Apple ID banner at the top.
  5. Tap iCloud.
  6. Tap iCloud Backup. To find it, you will have to scroll down a bit.
  7. Tap the switch to turn it on.
  8. Tap OK in the prompt. Your Apple device will no longer automatically back up data on your computer when you plug it in now.

Instead, it will transfer the data on the iCloud by uploading it through your Wi-Fi connection. And that is the reason why you need to establish a strong connection of your device with Wi-Fi, so that it could help the upload process to speed up.

If you prefer to use iTunes to make a back-up of your data, you should also trigger a manual update to make sure you have all of your recent data backed up.

  1. Plug your iPhone into your Mac or Windows PC.
  2. Launch iTunes.
  3. Click on the iPhone icon in the menu bar when it appears.
  4. Click on Back Up Now. (Click on Encrypt Backup and add a password— you want the security.)
  5. Back up Apps, if asked.

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPad

Well everyone is aware that passcodes help you to keep your device protected from the intruders. So, as long as you are using a passcode, you are making your iOS devices hardware encrypted. That means, your data has been made completely inaccessible to any other person. The encrypted inaccessible data is as simple as throwing away the encryption key.

As, it becomes inaccessible for others, it can still be retrieved by the iOS and as soon as it will get the order, it will still erase everything and return you to the setup process, so that you have a nice, clean device to start over with or sell.

  1. Launch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Now tap on General.
  3. Scroll all the way to the bottom and tap on Reset.
  4. Tap on Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap on Erase iPhone.
  6. Tap on Erase iPhone again to confirm.
  7. Enter your Passcode.
  8. Enter your Apple ID password to turn off Activate Lock and remove the device from Find my iPhone.

Once the wiping process is complete, you can set it up as a new device, restore from a different backup, or give or sell your device to someone else without having to worry about your data.

Write A Comment